isis unveiled, vol 2: chapter iv (gnostic ophites)

“The Gnostic Ophites taught the doctrine of Emanations, so hateful to the defenders of the unity in the trinity, and vice versa. The Unknown Deity with them had no name; but his first female emanation was called Bythos or Depth. It answered to the Shekinah of the kabalists, the “Veil” which conceals the “Wisdom” in the cranium of the highest of the three heads. As the Pythagorean Monad, this nameless Wisdom was the Source of Light, and Ennoia or Mind, is Light Itself. The latter was also called the “Primitive Man”, like the Adam Kadmon, or ancient Adam of the Kabala. Indeed, if man was created after his likeness and in the image of God, then this God was like his creature in shape and figure – hence, he is the “Primitive man”. The first Manu, the one evolved from Swayambhuva, “he who exists unrevealed in his own glory”, is also, in one sense, the primitive man, with the Hindus.

Thus, the “nameless and the unrevealed”, Bythos, his female reflection, and Ennoia, the revealed Mind proceeding from both, or their Son are the counterparts of the Chaldean first triad as well as those of the Brahmanic Trimurti. We will compare. In all three systems we see THE GREAT FIRST CAUSE as the ONE, the primordial germ, the unrevealed and grand ALL, existing through himself.

In the Indian Pantheon – Brahma-Zyaus; Chaldean – Ilu, Kabalistic En-Soph; Ophite System – The Nameless, or Secret Name.

Whenever the Eternal awakes from its slumber and desires to manifest itself, it divides itself into male and female. It then becomes in every system, THE DOUBLE-SEXED DEITY, The universal Father, and Mother.

Indian Pantheon – Brahma. Nara, (male), Nari, (female). Chaldean – Eikon or En-Soph. Anu, (male), Anata, (female). Ophite System – Nameless Spirit. Abrasax, (male), Bythos, (female).

From the union of the two emanates a third, or creative Principle – the SON, or the manifested Logos, the product of the Divine Mind.
Indian Pantheon – Varadj, the Son. Chaldean – Bel, the Son. Ophite System – Ophis, (another name for Ennoia), the Son.

Moreover, each of these systems has a triple male trinity, each proceeding separately through itself from one female Deity. So, for instance:

Indian Pantheon: The Trinity – Brahma, Vishnu, Siva, are blended into ONE, who is Brahma, (neuter gender), creating and being created through the Virgin Nari, (the mother of perpetual fecundity). Chaldean: The trinity – Anu, Bel, Hoa, (or Sin, Samas, Bin), blend into ONE who is Anu, (double-sexed), through the Virgin Mylitta. Ophite System: The trinity consisted of the Mystery named Sige, Bythos, Ennoia. These become ONE who is Abrasax, from the Virgin Sophia, (or Pneuma), who herself is an emanation of Bythos and the Mystery-god emanates through them, Christos.

To place it still clearer, the Babylonian System recognizes first – the ONE, (Ad, or Ad-ad), who is never named, but only acknowledged in thoughts as the Hindi Swayambhuva. From this he becomes manifest as Anu or Ana – the one above all – Monas. Next comes the Demiurge called Bel or Elu, who is the active power of the Godhead. The third is the principle of Wisdom, Hea, or Hoa, who also rules the sea and the underworld.

Each of these has his divine consort, giving us Anata, Belta, and Davkina. These, however, are only like the Saktis, and note specially remarked by theologists. But the female principle is denoted by Mylitta, the Great Mother, called also Ishtar. So, with the three male gods, we have the Triad or Trimurti, and with Mylitta added, the Arba or Four, (Tetraktys of Pythagoras), which perfects and potentializes all. Hence, the above-given modes of expression.

The following Chaldean diagram may serve as an illustration for all others: TRIAD, {Anu, Bel, Hoa}, Mylitta – Arba-il, or Four-fold God – become with Christians – TRINITY, {God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Ghost}, Mary, or mother of these three Gods, since they are one, or the Christian Heavenly Tetraktys.

Hence, Hebron, the city of Kabeiri was called Kirjath-Arba, city of the Four. The Kabeiri were Axieros – the noble Eros, Axiokersos, the worthy horned one, Axiokersa, Demeter and Kadmiel, Hoa, etcetera. The Pythagorean ten denoted the Arba-Il or Divine Four, emblematized by the Hindu Lingham: Anu, 1; Bel, 2; Hoa, 3, which makes six. The triad and Mylitta as 4 makes the ten.”

H. P. Blavatsky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s