stanza 6, sloka 4

Stanza VI
4. He builds them in the likeness of older wheels, placing them on the Imperishable Centres.
How does Fohat build them? He collects the fiery dust. He makes balls of fire, runs through them, and round them, infusing life thereinto, then sets them into motion; some one way, some the other way. They are cold, he makes them hot. They are dry, he makes them moist. They shine, he fans and cools them. Thus acts Fohat from one twilight to the other, during Seven Eternities.”


“Mr. Yates:  Are not the seven planets that exist only on four planes, a microcosmic representation of the whole seven?

Mme. Blavatsky:  They are, most assuredly, they are. Now, if you take the principles of man in a diagram, you see just the same thing as that; you see the physical body of man; then comes the vehicle of light and life; then comes the Manas and the Kama-rupa – the lower Manas, I mean – then comes the higher Manas, and Buddhi-Atman.

I speak for you who know better, not for those who are exoteric, but for all those who have studied exoterically. You know Atman is not a principle in fact.

Mr. Yates:  There was a sense, then, in which the seven planets were represented as existing upon the seven planes.

Mme. Blavatsky:  They exist on four planes.

Mr. Yates:  Do they correspond to the seven planes?

Mme. Blavatsky:  Yes, but still it is four and seven.

Mr. Yates:  I was simply trying to get that clear, that they did not exist –

Mme. Blavatsky:  The globes pretend to ‘matter, to form, and to shape, and there is nothing that exists on the third, remember, or higher planes that can have form or shape; they may have it, but not according to our conceptions.

It does not exist in Nature, there are not any such things, as though you would put staircases, or ladders, or rungs. All this is metaphysical, and all this is symbolical; but still, to come and to try to precisely give a form, shape, to that which we cannot understand, is perfect nonsense.

Mr. Yates:  The whole seven correspond to the seven planets, not only four.

Mme. Blavatsky:  They do.

Mr. Kingsland:  I put that question in order to elucidate that point a little more. It is stated that these planets did correspond to the states of matter.

Mme. Blavatsky:  Seven states of consciousness, yes, and not to the seven states of perception.

Mr. Yates:  You have again confused me. Though they do not exist on the plane, yet they correspond?

Mme. Blavatsky:  In the first place, we cannot think with our lower four states of consciousness. We can hardly begin perceiving them with the fourth, and then come the others; therefore it is a perfect impossibility.

You cannot see with your physical eyes, you cannot see with the state of consciousness which is located in the [    ], can you?

You cannot till you come to the upper Manas, to the fifth, so to say; then you can perceive them, but not with the lower Manas, or the Kama-rupa, or any of those principles, because they are purely physical –

Mr. B. Keightley:  And pertain entirely and exclusively to the Earth, in fact.

Mme. Blavatsky:  Certainly.”

H. P. Blavatsky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s